• Table of Contents
    • Abstract
    • Keywords
    • Article
      • Overall focus
      • Phase 1: Generalised Method of Moments Estimators (1980–88)
      • Phase 2: Stochastic discount factor models (1989–95)
      • Phase 3: Econometric evaluation of asset prices (1995–2000)
      • Phase 4: Expansion empirical analysis of macroeconomics–finance relationship (1995–2000)
      • Phase 5: Rational agents guarding against model misspecification (2000–present)
      • Concluding comments
    • See Also
    • Bibliography
    • How to cite this article

Hansen, Lars Peter (born 1952)

Esther-Mirjam Sent
From The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics, Online Edition, 2014
Edited by Steven N. Durlauf and Lawrence E. Blume
Back to top


Lars Peter Hansen is the 2013 recipient of the Nobel Prize in Economics along with Eugene Fama and Robert Shiller. Hansen has been instrumental in developing the Generalised Method of Moments, a statistical method that is particularly well suited to testing rational expectations economics. He is also known for his contributions to macroeconomics, in which he focuses on the linkages between the financial and real sectors of the economy. Five distinct phases may be identified in Hansen's research.
Back to top


Back to top


Back to top

How to cite this article

Sent, Esther-Mirjam. "Hansen, Lars Peter (born 1952)." The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics. Online Edition. Eds. Steven N. Durlauf and Lawrence E. Blume. Palgrave Macmillan, 2014. The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics Online. Palgrave Macmillan. 22 November 2017 <http://www.dictionaryofeconomics.com/article?id=pde2014_H000199> doi:10.1057/9780230226203.3925

Download Citation:

as RIS | as text | as CSV | as BibTex